Wrestling

Another good weekend for the Lancers

wrest12-12-16The St. Mary's Wrestling Team had a very successful December 9 & 10.

On Friday, SMH Wrestling took down GOW in their dual meet, 42-39. (It has been 1,046 days since the last dual victory, but who's counting?)

On Saturday, at the Orchard Park Tournament, Will Story took Second Place at 145 Varsity with a record of 2-1. Joe Lebron went 4-0 to win 182 JV.

The rest of the team wrestled quite well but did not medal. Josh Weiss and Ethan Craddock both went 3-1, Austin Walsh was 2-1 in JV, and Jake Fay was 2-2 in Varsity.

 

Doing well at Maple Grove Tourney

wrestling-webThe wrestling team began the season by participating in the Maple Grove Tourney.

Senior Will Story took first place in 145 -- he also took first place last year in the tournament.

Junior Jacob Fay took fourth place in his class, but he did earn Fastest Pin Trophy for pinning an opponent from Salamanca in 11 seconds!

 

 

 

 

Schedule

Date Start Time Opponent Location V/JV
Sat, Dec. 3 9 a.m. Maple Grove Kickoff Invitational Maple Grove Varsity
Tues, Dec. 6 6 p.m. St. Joe's St. Joe's V/JV
Fri, Dec. 9 6 p.m. Gow  Gow V/JV
Sat, Dec. 10 9 a.m. Orchard Park Invitational Orchard Park V/JV
Tues, Dec. 13 6 p.m. Wilson St. Mary's V/JV
Sat, Dec. 17 9 a.m. North Tonawanda JV Tournament North Tonawanda JV
Wed, Dec. 28 9 a.m. 49th Akron Holiday Invitational Akron JV
Thur, Dec. 29 9 a.m. 49th Akron Holiday Invitational Akron Varsity
Thur, Jan. 5 6 p.m. St. Francis St. Mary's V/JV
Sat, Jan. 7 9 a.m. Alexander Invitational  Alexander  Varsity
Fri, Jan. 13 3 p.m. Lockport Invitational Lockport V/JV
Sat, Jan. 14 9 a.m. Lockport Invitational Lockport  V/JV
Thur, Jan. 19 6 p.m. Gow St. Mary's V/JV
Sat, Jan. 21 9 a.m. Catt. Little Valley Round Robin Catt. Little Valley Varsity
Thur, Jan. 26 6 p.m. Canisius Canisius V/JV
Sat, Jan. 28 TBA TBA TBA Varsity
Sun, Feb. 5 9 a.m. All-Catholics Canisius V/JV
Sat, Feb. 11 9 a.m. CHSAA Tourney St. Francis V/JV
Sun, Feb. 12 9 a.m. CHSAA Tourney St. Francis V/JV

Roster

Name Grade
Matt Ash 9
Ethan Craddock 10
Tyler Cruz 9
Jake Fay 11
Parker Fay 10
Joe Flading 11
Joe Lebron 10
Will Story 12
Austin Walsh 10
Josh Weiss 10